Whipple House was built in 1677 and is one of the leading “Early Period” (1625-1725) buildings in the United States. The oldest part of the house dates back to 1677, when military captain and entrepreneur John Whipple built an impressive townhouse near the center of Ipswich to showcase his wealth.
Before 1683, he expanded half of the house into a whole house. His son, Major John Whipple, built a hipped roof, which more than doubled in size. The Whipple family in the 18th century added some Georgian “enhancements” which are still visible to this day. Colonial revivalists of the 19th and 20th centuries (currently the founder of the Ipswich Museum) saved the house from destruction, restored it, and moved it to its current location in 1927.
Today, the oak, chestnut and jade skeletons of this house are essentially intact. The stuccoes in the lower part of the wall and the shell-shaped ceiling retain the charm of the first period. Furniture and decorations from the 17th and 18th centuries were made by local and local artisans and used to decorate the interior of the house. At the entrance there is a colonial-style “housewives garden” that welcomes visitors.